Be the Champion God Created you to be… Running with Jesus

IMG_4155 (2)
My champion Zachery in November 2014 @ the River Valley Run with JMax -Jeremy Maxwell

 

Something I’ve learned about growth and doing hard things is that I need help!  I need people who have walked before me to show me the way.  I need to seek out people who are champions, who have succeeded, who have “good fruit” as the bible says, and ask them questions like these:

 

1) Is it possible? Even for me?

2) If it is possible, then how?  What are the things I need to do to succeed ?

3) What are the things you tell yourself?

After finishing a half-marathon, I figured out the answer to question #1 for running:  Even I CAN run, and I love it!  The answer to question #2 came after much trial and error, reading, researching training programs and finding ways to overcome weaknesses.  But the last question came today as I was listening to a gold medalist on a running program that I was using to train.  What I tell myself while I run makes all the difference in me being a champion or giving up.  Things I tell myself in my weakness are, “There is no way I can keep up this pace…”  “It hurts…”  “I can’t….”  “They are stronger and faster than I am…”  That is not what a champion says to himself.  He says, “I’ve got this…” “Embrace this…”  “There is no way they are going to beat me, I’ve worked too hard for this…”

My journey with Jesus has been the same.   I need help!  I need people who have walked before me to show me the way.  I need to seek out people who are champions, who are succeeding , who are walking in the Spirit of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, and self-control (Galatians 5:22-23).   The same questions apply.

1) Is it possible?  Could Jesus save me, even me? Even after all I have done and continue to fail at?

The answer to this question for all of us is YES!!  Jesus died for us all and He IS able to save us!!  For my testimony and answer to this question see my post: https://journeytojesus.wordpress.com/2018/01/05/my-journey-to-jesus/

But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God. John 1:12

But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light. 10 Once you were not a people, but now you are God’s people; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy. 1 Peter 2:9-10

 

2) If it is possible, how? What are the things I need to do to succeed?

So many people in my life have helped me in my journey with Jesus and I am SO thankful.  This is the Lord’s plan.  He created us for community.  We are the body of Christ.

For just as the body is one and has many members, and all the members of the body, though many, are one body, so it is with Christ.  For in one Spirit we were all baptized into one body—Jews or Greeks, slaves or free—and all were made to drink of one Spirit.               1 Corinthians 12:12-13

“We were ALL MADE TO DRINK OF ONE SPIRIT!”  I love that!  I need the people the Lord has put in my life to sharpen me and help me in this journey, because it is tough.  It is a battle, and those who are champions in this life and in their walk through their faith and perseverance have wisdom.  They can show me through their example and their advice which way to go and how to be strong for the battle.

Iron sharpens iron,
    and one man sharpens another. Proverbs 27:17

 “so that you will not be sluggish, but imitators of those who through faith and patience inherit the promises.”  Hebrews 6:12

Remember those who led you, who spoke the word of God to you; and considering the result of their conduct, imitate their faith.  Hebrews 13:7

Be imitators of me, just as I also am of Christ. 1 Corinthians 11:1

The things you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you. Philippians 4:9

3) What are the things I need to tell myself?

I often tell myself in my weakness, “This is too hard…”  “I can’t…” “It hurts….”  “I’m too tired…”  “I’ve had enough…”  I want to give up…”  And, you know what?  I’m not the only one who has felt this way.  David, the writer of the Psalms felt this way.  Elijah the prophet wanted to give up.  But the truth is that, “God is able…”  “All things are possible with God…”  “Jesus hurt on the cross for me and for you, so we could be free…”  “God will sustain and help…”

We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ. 2 Corinthians 10:5

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. Philippians 4:8

And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that having all sufficiency in all things at all times, you may abound in every good work. 2 Corinthians 9:8

 

Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us,  to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen. Ephesians 3:20-21

We can grow and do hard things and be champions!  We have the bible and a cloud of witnesses to prove it!  God is ABLE!!  We, through Jesus Christ, are able, for His glory and as a testimony to the story He is writing through us!  To Him be all glory and praise!

Be the champion God created you to be!

 

By The Goodlin Family

We are a family of 10, now 11 through marriage, seeking Jesus and living for the praise of His glory. Our desire is to encourage each other and others in our daily walk with the Lord, our Journey to Jesus.

1 comment

Leave a comment